The story

Caminino is a site with a long history, this hillside tucked in the heart of Tuscany has both a beautiful and bloody past. It was originally a Etruscan and Roman settlement built to work the copper that came from the mines in the Roccatederighi mountains. At the end of Xth century a small prioratus was founded here by the Bishop of Roselle and the first recorded mention of 'Caminino' dates back to 1075. A 'Pieve' is a country Cathedral; hence Pieve di Caminino. The site developed a strong following and with many local landlords giving donations the small Monastery soon took up a very important, powerful position in the diocesis of Grosseto–Roselle.  The hamlet of Caminino grew into a small town with its own library, school, weekly market and a large olive grove farmland; the monks were experts at producing extra virgin olive oil. The area went through many periods of battle and siege over the several hundred years that followed; while the religious presence remained consistent this unrest eventually saw the monks take refuge inside the walls of the castle at Montemassi and the church of Caminino was abandoned; the monastery which was still owned by the Bishop of Grosseto-Roselle, became a farmers' hamlet.

A new spiritual age began early in the XVIIth century and restoration of the church began. The roof was rebuilt with the tiles and the main oak beams that we can see today.  This awakening didn't last long that long however and the hamlet was sold in 1732 which marked the end of seven centuries of religious heritage.

During the 140 years that followed, many of the buildings were destroyed and the masonry was sold on.

In 1872, Antonio Giuseppe Marrucchi, former personal consultant of the Grand Duke of Tuscany, retired and bought the former Monastery and all the land around it. He restored the remaining buildings and created a stunning private town where he settled colonists who he employed to work the farmland.  Realizing the monks used to produce a fine extra virgin olive oil, he planted a large olive grove.

Another 100 years on the colonists abandoned the farmland to live in the cities and Pieve di Caminino was abandoned once again. In 1983 the new heirs of the Marrucchi, the Marrucchi Locatelli family started the renovation of all the buildings, a project lasting 15 years. So the medieval hamlet of Caminino was converted into a small romantic resort;  the 'Pieve di Caminino Historic Resort', which keeps a link to it's past by producing it's own extra virgin olive oil from the 100 year old olive trees planted by Antonio Giuseppe Marrucchi that still surround the site today.

/
  Charming country hospitality, organic farm & art gallery - © 2018 PIEVE DI CAMININO - P.IVA IT01142220530 
 
JoomSpirit